Seven Laws

The Ancient Western Code: the Seven Noahide Laws, moral touchstones for all humanity

Declare ye among the nations, and publish, and set up a standard; publish, and conceal not.
Jeremiah 50:2

One Father created us all. He Who lovingly grants us life and free will also blesses us with the gift of guidance. Every person of every nation lives connected to the First Covenant and its wisdom.

What is moral? What is righteous? Not just refraining from committing crimes - it's great to at least avoid commiting crimes but we can, after all, do better - but doing the opposite of what the Noahide laws forbid.

Here are the Seven Noahide prohibitions, the root prohibitions, the core of the Law, below, with their moral opposites:

  • ("Murder") Not just avoiding murder; saving human life

  • ("Theft") Not just avoiding stealing; giving charitably

  • ("Anarchy") Not just avoiding oppression and injustice; striving for freedom and justice

  • ("Incest") Not just avoiding sexual immorality; creating an exemplary personal and family life

  • ("Torn limb") Not just refraining from inflicting unnecessary pain on the animals that people eat but ensuring their decent treatment - and eating, when one eats, in a manner befitting the one being on Earth "made in the image of God."

  • ("Blasphemy") Not just avoiding sacrilege but positively sanctifying God in others' eyes

  • ("Strange worship") Not just avoiding repulsive idolatry (in Hebrew, gilulim, "abominable idolatry") or oppressive, cruel acts that would shame any "god" worth worshipping, but positively vindicating the holiness of God.

In the Bible, the People of Israel (Israel, means literally,"to struggle with God") are called to live by the Covenant of Sinai, including the Ten Commandments and the entire Law of Sinai, the Torah (Torah, the "Guidance" or "Teaching"). The Torah contains - it includes - the Seven Universal laws.

See Israel, Not the Point, Just the Instrument

The vast majority of humankind, Noahides or non-Jews, are blessed with the older covenant, the First Covenant, older even than Abraham and Moses, which applies to everybody, including Israel.

Do you remember the Bible's Noah and the Flood? Remember that the Flood ends, and then there's a rainbow after the Flood? That's where the Bible first refers to "covenant."

The rainbow, Genesis teaches, is the eternal symbol of the Universal Covenant.

The Rainbow Covenant consists of seven holy commandments: "connections" with God.

Commandment, in Hebrew, comes from the root "connection." By fulfilling a commandment, human beings connect with our Maker

For deeper insight, explore the website, and please consider getting what some call "by far the best book on the subject." Learn more about this all-important cause - and how you can help



  And God spoke unto Noah, and to Noah's children
  with him, saying, 'And as for Me, behold, I establish My covenant with you, and with your seed after you.'

  Genesis 9 : 8-9


Home | Contact Us | About Us | Multimedia | FAQ | Covenant Connection | Articles | Seven Laws | Donations

© Copyright 2005-2017
The First Covenant Foundation